Home Politics Lok Sabha Election 2019: Dates, Schedule, Facts – All Details Here

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Dates, Schedule, Facts – All Details Here


Election 2019 Dates: Voting will be held across India in seven phases on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Lok Sabha election 2019 result will be declared on May 23.


India is heading for Lok Sabha election 2019 next month – the world’s largest democratic election exercise. Indian General Election 2019 schedule is out and the national election will be held in seven rounds from April 11 and the results will be announced on May 23. Assembly polls will also be held simultaneously in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Odisha, which would make it the largest elections to be held across the country in decades.

In this year’s Lok Sabha election 2019, over 820 million voters would be eligible to vote, and among them, about 15 million are first time voters between the ages of 18 and 19 years. With 430 million Indians owning a smartphone, half a billion using the Internet, 300 million using Facebook, 200 million sending messages on WhatsApp and 30 million users on Twitter, political parties and candidates will aggressively use new technology and social media to win the hearts and minds of young voters.

In 2014, Narendra Modi-led BJP had won 282 seats out of 543 constituencies in Lok Sabha, handing out a crushing defeat to the 10-year-rule of the United Progressive Alliance led by the Congress. The model code of conduct has already been put in place for this year’s election where nearly 2,000 parties and over 8,000 candidates will be contesting elections for 543 seats.

Holding elections in India, world’s seventh largest nation by area and second most populous country is a complex process.

Millions of poll workers, police and security personnel are deployed in cities, towns, villages and hamlets. They use planes, boats, trains, helicopters, elephants and camels and travel by foot to reach far flung voters, because every vote counts. Elections in India are nothing less than a “festival of democracy.”

Lok Sabha election 2019: Date, schedule, phase-wise breakup – Here’s all you need to know

Lok Sabha Election Dates:

Voting will be held across India on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Lok Sabha Election Polling Stations:

More than 10 lakh polling stations would be set up to conduct the Lok Sabha election 2019, which is a new world record. Voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) will be used in all polling stations. 1.1 million electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in Lok Sabha Election 2019.

Lok Sabha Election Eligible Voters:

More than 820 million citizens will cast their votes across the country. The number of eligible voters has gone up by more than five times since the first general elections. Voter turnout has also increased from 46 per cent in 1951-52 to 66 per cent in 2014. In the last election held in 2014, there were roughly 815 million, but just 550 million exercised their right to vote.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 First Time Voters:

Lok Sabha Election 2019 will see over 1.5 crore first-time voters. These voters in the age group of 18-19 years constitute 1.66 per cent of the total electorate. Two-thirds of Indians are under 35.


Lok Sabha Election: Voters In “Others” Category

Transgender persons enrol in the electoral rolls as “Others” on the gender category. This time, the number of electors enrolled as “others” gender is 38,325.


More than 10 lakh polling stations would be set up to conduct the Lok Sabha election 2019.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 candidates:

More than 8,000 contestants will fight for 543 seats. 2 seats are reserved.

Lok Sabha Election Political Parties:

1,841 political parties recognised by the Election Commission will contest in Lok Sabha election 2019.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Cost:

According to the New Delhi-based Centre for Media Studies, the Lok Sabha polling exercise, will cost an unprecedented Rs. 500 billion.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Phase wise breakup and schedule

Phase 1 (April 11)

1. Andhra Pradesh: 25 seats
2. Arunachal Pradesh: 2 seats
3. Assam: 5 seats
4. Bihar: 4 seats
5. Chhattisgarh: 1 seat
6. Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats
7. Maharashtra: 7 seats
8. Manipur: 1 seat
9. Meghalaya: 2 seats
10. Mizoram: 1 seat
11. Nagaland: 1 seat
12. Odisha: 4 seats
13. Sikkim: 1 seat
14. Telangana: 17 seats
15. Tripura: 1 seat
16. Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats
17. Uttarakhand: 5 seats
18. West Bengal: 2 seats
19. Andaman and Nicobar Islands: 1 seat
20. Lakshadweep: 1 seat

Phase 2 (April 18)

1. Assam: 5 seats
2. Bihar: 5 seats
3. Chhattisgarh: 3 seats
4. Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats
5. Karnataka: 14 seats
6. Maharashtra: 10 seats
7. Manipur: 1 seat
8. Odisha: 5 seats
9. Tamil Nadu: 39 seats
10. Tripura: 1 seat
11. Uttar Pradesh: 8 seats
12. West Bengal: 3 seats
13. Puducherry: 1 seat

Phase 3 (April 23)

1. Assam: 4 seats
2. Bihar: 5 seats
3. Chhattisgarh: 7 seats
4. Gujarat: 26 seats
5. Goa: 2
6. Jammu and Kashmir: 1 seat
7. Karnataka: 14 seats
8. Kerala: 20 seats
9. Maharashtra: 14 seats
10. Odisha: 6 seats
11. Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats
12. West Bengal: 5 seats
13. Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 1 seat
14. Daman and Diu: 1 seat

Phase 4 (April 29)

1. Bihar: 5 seats
2. Jammu and Kashmir: 1 seat
3. Jharkhand: 3 seats
4. Madhya Pradesh: 6 seats
5. Maharashtra: 17 seats
6. Odisha: 6 seats
7. Rajasthan: 13 seats
8. Uttar Pradesh: 13 seats
9. West Bengal: 8 seats

abki baar 400 ke paar bjp new slogan 2019 lok sabha polls

Phase 5 (May 6)

1. Bihar: 5 seats
2. Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats
3. Jharkhand: 4 seats
4. Madhya Pradesh: 7 seats
5. Rajasthan: 12 seats
6. Uttar Pradesh: 14 seats
7. West Bengal: 7 seats

Phase 6 (May 12)

1. Bihar: 8 seats
2. Haryana: 10 seats
3. Jharkhand: 4 seats
4. Madhya Pradesh: 8 seats
5. Uttar Pradesh: 14 seats
6. West Bengal: 8 seats
7. Delhi: 7 seats

Phase 7 (May 19)

1. Bihar: 8 seats
2. Jharkhand: 3 seats
3. Madhya Pradesh: 8 seats
4. Punjab: 13 seats
5. West Bengal: 9 seats
6. Chandigarh: 1 seat
7. Uttar Pradesh: 13 seats
8. Himachal Pradesh: 4 seats

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Finding your name on voters’ list

Follow three easy steps:

1. Go to the National Voter Services Portal’s (NVSP) Electoral Search page – electoralsearch.in.

2. You can search your name on Voter List by entering simple details about you – Name, Father or Husband’s Name, Age, Date Of Birth, Gender, State, District and Assembly Constituency.

3. Alternatively, you can simply punch in your EPIC number, which is your Electoral Photo ID Card number. This number is mentioned in bold letters on your voter identity card. Also mention the State and you will be able to check your name, polling station and other details on the page.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: How To Register To Vote

For online registration, follow these steps:

Visit https://www.nvsp.in/ for voter registration.

Fill Form 6 that helps ‘First time voters’ and ‘voters who have shifted to another constituency’ and submit.

Upload your ID and address proof, and your photograph. Once all the details are filled in, simply scroll down and hit submit.

Offline registration, here’s what you need to do:

BJP releases 1st list for Lok Sabha polls: Narendra Modi to seek re-election from Varanasi, Amit Shah to contest from Gandhinagar

You can also enroll offline. Fill two copies of Form 6.This form is also available free of cost in offices of Electoral Registration Officers / Assistant Electoral Registration Officers and Booth Level Officers.

“The application accompanied by copies of the relevant documents can be filed in person before the concerned Electoral Registration Officer / Assistant Electoral Registration Officer or sent by post addressed to him or can be handed over to the Booth Level Officer of your polling area.”




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here